Holika Holika Prime Miracle Snail Emulsion

9 Jul

I got the Holika Holika Prime Snail Emulsion in one of my Gmarket hauls. I got it because I have been curious of this line, I was in need of an emulsion at that time and I like anything snail.

the box (I’m sorry for the reflection)

the bottle (doesn’t it look like a space ship? :))

First Impressions: The box looks chic and even the packaging itself is pretty, despite it being made from plastic. It comes with a pump (I forgot to take a picture of it), so it is very hygienic.

ingredients

Description: From the box – Total solution emulsion, which the included mucin found from the skin restoration effect of snail solves mixture of problems [sic]. I also found this description from an ebay seller: It controls dullness of skin, wrinkles, and trouble marks and contains 65% of snail mucin.

Directions for use: Pump an adequate amount of the product and apply it onto face after toner. Lightly pat your face for quick absorption.

Smell: I don’t like its strong smell which reminded me of a Chinese medicated cream like Chin Chun Su Facial Cream.

Consistency: It’s a little thick compared to typical emulsions that I own (which tend to be more liquid-y). It feels a bit heavy on the face, as if there’s no room for the skin to breathe. Even with air-condition on, I sweat as soon as I apply this on my face.

one pump

when blended…

and absorbed

Experience with the product: Unfortunately, my face itched and broke out the first time I applied it. I gave it another chance after two weeks and used it only at night. Surprisingly, I don’t wake up an oily mess which is always good. It brightened my face, too. Although it gave me a temporary glow, that’s the only noticeable result I had experienced. I still get breakouts from using it that’s why I don’t use it that often.

*Please note that my personal review of this product might be different to yours, considering our different skin conditions (mine is oily and sensitive), weather conditions (it is hot and humid everyday in Bangkok), and whatnot. I am just sharing what I have personally experienced with two month’s use of this product.

 I am still using the Holika Holika Prime Miracle Snail Emulsion but I don’t use it that often anymore.

Have you tried this product before or any products infused with snail mucin? What is your experience? Care to share?

Cheers! 🙂

10 Responses to “Holika Holika Prime Miracle Snail Emulsion”

  1. AJ's Mom July 9, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Oh interesting. I’ve never tried any Holika Holika products before but I’ve been wanting to try one of their BB creams. This one looks cool, and you know, I love snails! he he.

    By the way Jeanette, would you like to join this new community that Breige put together on Facebook? It’s for all WordPress bloggers who blog about beauty and fashion. It’s called WordPress Fashion and Beauty Community. It’s actually cool and lots of bloggers there already. Check it out. I’m a member and the admin there too. he he. (now checking out your post about the palace! 🙂 )

    • sjbkk July 12, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks, Donah 😉 I have quite a few (or a lot) Holika Holika products and this is actually the first one that frustrated me because I was so excited for this. I hope I can make it work again.

      Let me check that interesting Facebook site. Do I have to do anything to join?

      Take care always! 🙂

      • AJ's Mom July 12, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

        hey Jean! you’re a busy bee these days, aren’t you? I have yet to try Holika Holika, might go for their lip tints and see how they are.
        You don’t need to do anything apart from joining us, it’s either myself or Breige that will get you in. hehe. I’ll see you there!

  2. Becca @ The Beauty Sample July 11, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    Goodness, that doesn’t sound fun :/ Thats too bad–snail emulsion sounds so unique and interesting!

    • sjbkk July 12, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

      Hi Becca,
      I really had high hopes for this product and was really excited for it but we’re not meant to be 😉

      Hope you’re having a good day! Cheers!

  3. Tina July 12, 2012 at 1:55 am #

    I feel like I would have a similar experience that you described since I am VERY sensitive to fragrance and if it has a smell I don’t like I will not be able to use it. I also would not be able to handle that feeling of my skin not being able to breathe. Thanks for the review and it’s good to have you as a subscriber again! :).

    • sjbkk July 12, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

      Hi Tina,
      Thanks for dropping by 🙂

      I was actually put off the first time I smelled it but I still gave it a chance. Hopefully I can still make it work someday 😉

      Cheers! 🙂

  4. faye September 16, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    I’ve never tried holika holika but i need to given my love of asian beauty.

    • sjbkk September 18, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      Hi Faye,
      Thanks for dropping by my blog. Yeah, you should try Holika Holika. Their skincare and makeup lines have good products. It’s one of my favourite Korean brands.
      Cheers 🙂

  5. Jas August 15, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    Sadly it got ……
    http://beinformedblog.com/?p=18

Leave a comment