Revlon Whimsical

18 Apr

I finally got my hands on a Revlon Whimsical! Yay! I wasn’t expecting to see one at Watson’s but I was glad I did 🙂

Here’s a quick post with swatches using essence gel-look top coat and my Skinfood Gunnpang Nail (a matte top coat). I used Boots 17 Bolt from the Blue as the base colour since Whimsical is also more of a pastel blue colour.

I only used one coat of Revlon Whimsical since I don’t like to many glitters but I will try with a double or triple coat next time.

no top coat used

I was disappointed with the 17 Bolt from the Blue because it was so thick and sticky which makes the application hard to manage. It got streaky, too.  This is my first time to try a 17 nail polish so I can’t really compare with the others. I reckon, though, that the bottle given to me was old (I just forgot to take a picture).  I don’t think I’ll be using it again but I just couldn’t be bothered returning it to Boots. I’m not sure how customer services works in Boots, more so with returning a used nail polish.

 with essence gel-look top coat

essence gel-look top coat looks alright but I don’t think it made my nails extra shiny. It took forever to dry, too so bubbles formed. I thought it was dry after an hour but I still smudged my nail polish. My solution? I used Skinfood Gunnpang nail, a matte top coat. I just love this one because it dries fast and smoothens the streaky and smudged bits.

 Products Used: Skinfood Nail Vita Base Coat, 17 Fast Finish Bolt from the Blue, Revlon Whimsical, essence gel-look topcoat, Skinfood Gunnpang Nail (not pictured but can be seen here)

I like Revlon Whimsical especially that it’s not overpoweringly glittery. I like the look of it thinly spread on the nails. I will be trying this again with a different base polish and top coat. I already got Revlon’s top speed top coat so I know I’ll be in good hands (pun unintended).

Have your tried Revlon Whimsical yet? Did you like it? Care to share?

Cheers 🙂

8 Responses to “Revlon Whimsical”

  1. katislaterszirom April 19, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

    So you used 17 Bolt for the first layer? What does just the Revlon polish look like? It it clearish? It looks cute how your nails turned out though! Reminds me of cupcake frosting or something ^^

    • sjbkk April 20, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

      Yeah, I used Bolt from the Blue as base. Whimsical is sheer pale blue, very similar to the light blue base I used.

  2. kofykat April 22, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    for some reason I am scared of light coloured nail polishes.

    • sjbkk April 22, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

      Really? So you haven’t tried light-coloured nail polish before?

      • kofykat April 22, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

        not really. it makes my hands looks sunburnt. 😦

  3. Lyn May 30, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Hello! I love the Revlon Whimsical! I have been searching high and low in Singapore but sadly Singapore doesn’t stock such beautiful colours.. 😦 But I do have a friend holidaying in Bangkok now and I would really like to know exactly where to get it so she could just run in and out in 2 minutes! I wouldn’t want to disturb her holiday too much. Hope to hear from you, thank you so much! 🙂

    • sjbkk May 30, 2012 at 10:03 am #

      Hi Lyn,
      Revlon Whimsical is available at any Revlon counters. I got mine at Watson’s but I also saw some at Revlon counters in Central Department Stores or at Siam Paragon. Hope your friend can get you one 🙂 Cheers!

      • Lyn May 30, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

        Thank you! I hope she finds it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

