Snapshots from Seoul: Hotel Rooms

16 Apr

I only stayed in Seoul/ South Korea for four days but I have stayed in two hotels. I don’t really know why our travel agency booked us that way.

Anyway, we stayed at Lone Star Hotel on the first two nights. I wasn’t really expecting much from our accommodation since I didn’t pay a premium for the package tour. Lone Star Hote is a small, cozy hotel (if I’m not mistaken there’s no onsite restaurant as we always had breakfast outside the hotel) near Dongdaemun.  A little corner in the lobby can be found which has complimentary coffee, tea, bananas, and fruit juice. The hotel was also nearby many convenience stores – 7-11, Mini-stop and GS25, restaurants, cafes, shops, drugstores, and tent restaurants (too bad I wasn’t able to try it).

I was surprised at how everything in my room was big – the bed, the floor area, tv, bath tub (I think it was a Jacuzzi that can fit two persons) and bathroom. I didn’t feel scared even though I was alone (I sometimes get paranoid staying at hotel rooms by myself), I even opened the windows just to balance the hot air emanating from the heater 🙂

Although there was no WiFi available, each room (I think) has a computer with internet connection which you can use for free. There were also  a small fridge, huge TV and DVD player including free bottles of water, coffee and tea, and toiletries in the bathroom. Of course, I had fun playing  using the automatic toilet seat 😀

There was no flourescent lamp in my room though so it was a little dim. But I liked the red lamps and lips wallpaper by the bed. Don’t you think my room looks a little like a honeymoon room? 😉

On our last day, we moved to a different hotel (outside Seoul). Business Hotel Jewelry is located in Gyeonggi-do. I did not really see much of the hotel or its nearby attractions or shops. Visit Korea in its website mentioned that, “Business Hotel Jewelry is close to Everland, Korean Folk Village, Gyeonggi Korean Traditional Music Center, and is only a 2-minute walk to Nam June Paik Art Center, and the Gyeonggi Provincial Museum. The Osancheon Stream also flows right in front of the hotel and is a good place to jog, walk, cycle and enjoy other sports activities.”

My hotel room was also big but not as chic-looking as the first one.

The room amenities at Business Jewelry Hotel are similar to the Lone Star Hotel Seoul – the TV, computer, bathroom, and toiletries, except for a couch and the cold/hot water dispenser (instead of a fridge). I did not also get scary vibes in this hotel, I even stayed up until 3AM watching Korean shows which I cannot understand 😉

I’m not sure about the other hotel facilities but this time, there was an onsite restaurant. The hotel staff was quite friendly, too. They were surprised when I greeted them in Korean.

 Can you tell I am missing Seoul and South Korea? 🙂 I will still be posting more entries with my travel to South Korea. I really hope you will enjoy reading them.

Where did you stay when you went to Seoul/ South Korea? What facilities/services of a hotel do you consider to be the most important? Care to share?

Cheers 🙂

One Response to “Snapshots from Seoul: Hotel Rooms”

  1. kofykat April 22, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    Definitely better than the last two hotels i stayed in…. love the lipstick thing/

Leave a Reply

