Snapshots from Seoul: Provence Village

15 Apr

NOTE: Provence Village is not actually in Seoul but in Gyeonggi-do (a province in South Korea) but for the sake of uniformity of my travel accounts in Seoul, I’m keeping the same heading.

map of the village

Hi everyone! Munching on some Korean strawberries brought me back to Korea and I reminisced all the beautiful places I visited on my winter trip. It also made me realise that I haven’t finished my posts on my travel to South Korea almost two months ago. So, here is one of our destinations…

Provence Village is the very first place we visited after going out of the airport. I was really excited because I thought we will be going to Petit France. I was the first one to excitedly get off the bus to look for the Little Prince-inspired landmarks and I realised we’re at the wrong place (Our tour guide was speaking in Thai so I couldn’t understand what he was talking about most of the time).

Anyway, Provence Village is a themed village to probably resemble a little charming French village. The area is not really that big and the whole “village” comprised mainly of quaint cafes, restaurants (I saw a shabu-shabu and French restaurants, among others), and shops selling trinkets, souvenirs, candies, and more. The shophouses and cafes are uniquely painted in bright colours, too. There is also a nice garden and a pond in the center. While there is not much to be done in Provence Village except for some casual dining and eclectic shopping (I espied on a Zara warehouse, too), there is plenty of opportunity for cam-whoring. I did, too 🙂

Here are some of the pictures… Enjoy!

French restaurant – signage – drama/ movie poster*

(*I’m guessing that a certain drama/ movie filmed there, but I can be wrong)

charming cafes, restaurants and shops

out in the sun

I think it was only 3 degrees Celsius that time and coming from Thailand, it was a chilly day!

a sidestreet – cafe – more restaurants and cafes

the pond – “Vincent Van Gogh” house – and more shops

We only stayed there for barely half an hour and I have walked the center area thrice (I still didn’t make any friends with my tour group at this time so I was by my lonesome T.T). I guess when you’re with friends or special someone, you’ll see Provence Village differently. Looking at the pictures now, it actually seemed a romantic place.

I will be definitely back next time 🙂 Have you been to Provence Village? Which part/ area did you like? Care to share?

Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

