Revlon Top Speed Fast Dry Enamel Ocean

15 Apr

I haven’t bought a Revlon nail polish in a long time but when I saw Revlon Whimsical and Jaded in one of the blog posts, I know I have to get my hands on them, too. There was no Jaded at the drugstore but I was giddy with excitement when I saw Whimsical! I got Whimsical and other nail polish colours as well as Revlon Top Speed Fast Dry Enamel Ocean (that’s a mouthful!).

Description: Revlon Top Speed Fast Dry Enamel has “a built in top coat which delivers a salon smooth finish. Available in 32 cool colors that set in 60 seconds”.

I don’t own and haven’t really tried a dark green nail polish on my finger nails , especially for work, but since I’m on a holiday, I decided to give it a go. Revlon Ocean is actually a duochrome. It looks bright green with blue undertones, or shall I say, teal. It’s hard to capture it in my camera, though.

What I like most about it is that the colour makes my hand looks brighter and fairer. I was happy to get this colour.

Swatches

no flash

with flash

natural light

Review

First Impressions: I’m always on a quest for fast drying nail polish so I was enamored by its “Top Speed” name. I kind of liked the silver brush handle which gives it a more chic look.

Consistency: Not watery nor thick, it was easy to manage but I had to act fast because it does dry quickly.

Colour: Shimmery duochrome – bright green/ teal

Smell: None

True to claim?: It dries fast so I have to be quick in my application. I don’t know why bubbles formed, though. Or perhaps, there was a fan when I did my nails? One coat of Ocean looks opaque enough but I suggest for a double layer to make the nail polish last longer. I didn’t know that no top coat is needed so I still used one.

bubbles formed 😦

Price: a little less than US$5.00

Durability: I changed my nail polish after three days even though there we no signs of chipping yet.

Availability: Revlon can be found in leading drugstores and department stores here in Thailand. I have seen the Ocean variant in a drugstore and two department stores I recently visited.

Will I purchase again?: I got two more Revlon nail polish and I will definitely repurchase new colours next time.

Two days after my manicure, I experimented to see how the shimmery Ocean would appear with a matte top coat. So, I used a layer of my Skinfood Gunnpang Nail over it.

no flash – matte

with flash – matte

… and I loved it! Applying a matte top coat gave the colour a different shade. Does it look more of a moss green colour?

Nail polish is love! Are you into Revlon nail polish as well? What’s your favorite so far? Care to share?

Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

