When I’m Bored with My Nail Polish… #4

5 Apr

Some nail polishes last me more than 3 days and on days when I easily get bored with my nail colour yet lazy with doing the whole nine yards of cleaning my nails and changing the nail polish, I just think of ways to change the look of my nail polish. You can read the entries for No. 1 here, No. 2 here, and No. 3 here.

4. I attempt at nail art.

Tadaa!

This is my first ever attempt at a “proper” nail art. I know it’s not perfect and not very original but I was proud of myself. I never thought I could do something like this because I can be really clumsy at times. So, now… I’m inspired to try more. I have to perfect my dots first 😉

I was wearing my Skinfood Gunnpail Nail No.2 (matte hot pink) for three days and the nail polish on my thumb started to chip. At first, I planned to just use a crack nail polish to give it a different look but when I was youtube-surfing the other day, I found some dotting nail tutorials without the use of the proper dotting tool. It seemed easy so I wanted to give it a try.

I started with painting a black nail polish diagonally near the tip. I used a Tony Moly BK01.

I love the combination of colours, it’s so rock chick! It’s even beautiful just like that but I wanted to try creating the dots. I only have a random, brand-less white nail polish so that’s what I used. For making the dots, I used a wooden cuticle pusher. I have yet to get the hang of doing the dots  as round as they should be. The trick is actually to hold the dotting object vertically but I forgot so please bear with my dots 😉

All done!

I noticed that the matte nail polish looked so pretty with a glossy top coat on. But yeah, applying a glossy top coat over a matte nail polish defeats the purpose for the matte effect, right? 🙂

These are products I used:

Tony Moly BK01, white nail polish, Skinfood Gunnpang Nail No. 2, Anne & Florio top coat, wooden cuticle pusher, cuticle oil (not pictured)

On my next “nail dotting” experiment, I’ll use the bobby pin. Its rounded tips should make good dots.

Have you tried dotting your nails or doing nail art in general? Care to share your masterpiece?

Cheers 🙂

3 Responses to “When I’m Bored with My Nail Polish… #4”

  1. smokeyeyesmua April 5, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    Very cute look need to start experimenting with my nails!

    • sjbkk April 5, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

      Thanks! You should try, too 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wet n Wild Dreamy Poppy & Easter Nail Art « Life's Simple Joys - April 9, 2012

    […] my nails again. Not that I don’t like the colour, but I just wanted to practice on my dots in time for Easter Sunday I really wanted to try yellow dots but I’m not sure if they will […]

Leave a Reply

