Haul from Seoul: The Face Shop

24 Mar

Like what I said in my previous posts, I consider The Face Shop as one of my favourite brands. I never get breakouts from its skin care products and BB creams, the few makeup I got from the brand work well and have good quality, and its price is reasonable. Kim Hyun Joong as an endorser is also a plus factor 🙂

Of course, I had to take the opportunity to grab my essentials when I went to Seoul a few weeks ago. Now that I am looking at the products I got there, I realized that I didn’t really get a lot and that Ishould have gotten more.

Anyway, here’s my haul:

The Face Shop Snail BB Cream

I have tried using the Snail BB Cream and luckily I don’t get breakouts from it. I am not sure if it healed my hormonal pimples because I have only tried it twice. It only comes in one hue and like other BB creams it blends with the skin tone. I set it with my MAC Lightful Marine Bright Foundation Powder but I turned pasty. I have yet to find its best setting partner.

Clean Face Spot Corrector, Mild Lotion, Mild Toner

These are my backup products. I am currently using the products from the Clean Face line because I have really sensitive skin and I suddenly got breakouts on my chin. These products (lotion and toner) are gentle to the face and don’t tingle. I also use the facial cleanser from the same line.

Clean Face Sebum Control Soothing Mask Sheets

I was sales talked by the SA to get these as well 🙂 I haven’t tried them and I hope they work.

Konjac Sponge and Blush Brush

I love the konjac sponge! I was also sales talked into getting this but it was good that I got it. I really like its soft, jelly-ish texture (Konjac is a starchy plant used in making flour and jelly) which is very gentle to the skin. I use the konjac sponge when I wash my face. The angled brush on the other hand is made from synthetic hair. It is not that soft but it is dense.

And for the freebies 🙂 The bubbly sales attendant, who I think is a high school student, was happy I gave in to the products she recommended me. She was fun to talk to and really friendly so I didn’t mind. In return, she gave me a generous amount of freebies and samples.

Free mask and samples of Intevia Cream and some herbal emulsion (I don’t know its name). Both cream and emulsion are not available locally.

Kim Hyun Joong stickers and post cards

Since my haul was over KRW60,000, I was able to apply for VAT refund (which I did not even claim) of KRW3,500. If I am not mistaken, the minimum purchase which entitles you for a VAT refund is KRW30,000.

I really did not get much, but I have already over-shopped here to compensate for the “mini” shopping I did in Seoul. I just can’t resist The Face Shop, that’s why 🙂

Shopping is fun!

Cheers 🙂

7 Responses to “Haul from Seoul: The Face Shop”

  1. kofykat March 24, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    KHJ…. Love him… and these look nice. (btw the snail thing isn’t actually made of snails right?)

    • sjbkk March 24, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      So, you like KHJ, too 🙂 That’s cool!

      The snail BB cream has actually 40% of snail slime in it 😉

      • kofykat March 24, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

        0_0 shocked 0_0 0_0 then for KHJ 0_0 lol,,,,

  2. katislaterszirom March 28, 2012 at 1:54 am #

    Ya. Wow — shocked about the snail slime too 0_o but those are such cute postcards ^^

    • sjbkk March 28, 2012 at 9:08 am #

      The use of snail slime in skincare products has been really popular in Japan and Korea. The mucin in the snail slime is supposed to provide healing properties. It’s really not as gross as it sounds 🙂 I have tried two snail creams and reviewed them here.

  3. ongyt October 16, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    I bought the whole clean face series without testing the tester. And when i got home and opened it , i realised there’s a problem using the lotion and toner . I mean the container is solid, i can’t squeeze the lotion. And it’s hard to ” pour ” it out. What’s your comment for me ? Thanks.

    • sjbkk February 22, 2013 at 10:08 am #

      I’m sorry for the late reply. But yeah, it was one of my problems, too. What I did was shook it a little and pour it like you use a catsup/ tomato sauce. Hope it helped and I know I’m so late already.

Leave a Reply

