Snapshots from Seoul: Hongdae

16 Mar

For our lunch on our last day in Seoul, we ate at a pub (I cannot remember if it was an English or Irish pub) but no, pub grub wasn’t served but Korean fare, of course. I was not certain as to what the name of the  dish was but it was braised spicy chicken with noodles. I searched on the net about it and I think that it was what we ate. It is called jjimdak.

Photo Credits: Visit Korea

Hongdae is actually an abbrevation of Hongik University, which is Hongik Daehakgyo in Korean. You can expect this area to have a youthful and artistic vibe. It is also home to artists and known for a mural street. While standing outside a convenience store, I got two flyers about an invitation to some painting exhibit (I think) and a play.

Our group may have not seen everything about Hongdae, for we only explored the area closest to where we had lunch, but I have noticed that there were a lot of shops selling clothes, shoes, stationery, skincare and cosmetics as well as cafes, pubs and PC bangs (PC stand for personal computer and bang is the Korean word for room, so literally it means a PC room or an internet/ gaming cafe) catered to university students, teachers and tourists.

While waiting for our bus, I was able to go to (wherelse… :)) Etude House, The Face Shop, Innisfree, and Watsons. As much as I wanted to shop for more, I was afraid to incur excess baggage fees so I only got a few light items.

After shopping, we just sat/ stood outside a building with the sun’s rays directly shining on us 🙂 It was still a bit chilly that day.

I just took a few photos of the “Hongdae” scene with students walking about while I ate a Melona (a creamy melon-flavoured popsicle) to douse my fiery tongue from the jjimdak.

I know that there was definitely more to Hongdae from what we have seen but at that time, we did not have the luxury of time to explore further. So from Hongdae, off the airport we went! It was time to go home 🙂  Oh here’s a trivia: The popular KDrama, The 1st Shop of Coffee Prince’s cafe can be found somewhere in Hongdae. And yes, I did not go there 🙂

Have you been to Hongdae? Care to share amazing places in the area?

Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

