Nail Stamping for the First Time

15 Dec

I like painting my nails but I was never into acrylics or 3D art but when I discovered Konad and checked videos on how to do nail stamping, I was curious if the klutzy me can do it. I decided that before I purchase a Konad set and enter the creative world of nail stamping, I need to get a fake Konad set to get the hang of it all.

Lucky that I saw this set (I’m not sure about its name or brand as I have already disposed the package) when I went to Platinum shopping mall weeks ago. This nail stamping set is only THB200 (~approx. USD7). When I first tried it, I thought I was gonna throw it away because the stamper just doesn’t pick up the picture. Good thing that I browsed the net and one blogger said that there might still be a plastic on top of the plates and YES, it’s what I had as well 😛

The nail stamping set consists of two plates (sorry, I just can’t capture the prints on the plate), three nail polishes, scraper and stamper. I know you may be curious why I have a plastic card in the picture. I like using it as a scraper instead of the metal scraper that is sharp and scratches the surface of the plates.

So how is nail stamping done: (Oh, don’t forget to put on a nail polish as base for your desired nail art. Let it dry).

1. Choose a print that you like from the plate.

2. Put an ample amount of nail polish on top of your chosen print.

3. Scrape of extra nail polish and pick up the image from the plate using the stamper.

4. Stamp the drawing to your nail from side to side.

5. Apply a top coat. And it’s done.

I know my instructions may seem not clear so here is a video instruction in youtube. (Credit to owner).

It takes heapsss of patience and practice to really perfect nail stamping. Check out my pictures below which are my first and second attempts of nail stamping. I know they are messy, imperfect and with upside down prints, so please bear with it 🙂

Have you tried nail stamping? How do you find it?

Cheers! 🙂

3 Responses to “Nail Stamping for the First Time”

  1. Cholesterol foods December 26, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get something done.

  2. clacked January 5, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    I think other web site proprietors should take this site as an model, very clean and wonderful user genial style and design, as well as the content. You are an expert in this topic!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. First Attempt at Gradation Nail Art « life's simple joys - December 20, 2011

    […] skill that’s why I want to experiment and try different types of nail art. After trying nail stamping, this is my first attempt at gradation nail […]

Leave a Reply

