Secret Key Snail + EGF Repairing Gel Cream

8 Nov

I bought the snail + egf snail cream from Gmarket.

I found its ingredients and functions here:

  1. Snail Slime Extract – skin regeneration, improvement in skin balance, enhancement of skin elasticity
  2. EGF – enhancement of skin elasticity, prevention of wrinkles and saggy skin
  3. Witch Hazel Extract – calming and regenerating effects
  4. Aloe Vera Leaf Extract – superior moisturizing, whitening and protecting effects
  5. Beta-Glucan – enhancement of skin elasticity, ease wrinkles and saggy skin, correction of skin tone
  6. Lemon Extract – whitening, moisturizing and astringent effects

I got the Secret Key Snail + EGF Repairing Gel Cream last month. I just finished one 50g tub of the snail cream and I have started on the second one. Although it garnered fair reviews from some sites, I admit that I didn’t have high hopes for the cream because it is one of the inexpensive snail creams on Gmarket (is price relative to quality?).

First Impressions: The breakable (sturdier than glass) tub where the snail gel/cream is contained doesn’t look cheap. It also consists of a protective lid upon opening the cover. One gripe that I have with it is that it doesn’t have a spatula or spoon to scoop the gel, so using the finger can be unhygienic. You can use the spoon from other products though.

Appearance and Consistency: The product itself is a transparent gel that is viscous so spillage is next to impossible.

Smell: I can’t quite distinguish its smell, it smells natural though that may have come from the combination of the ingredients. I haven’t smelled a snail in my life so I can’t tell if it’s the snail that I smell 🙂

How I use it: I use it twice a day – morning and night after using toner, essence, eye cream and emulsion. I use an adequate amount during the day and put a generous amount at night. Since it is a gel type, it is light and cool on the skin. After applying it in the skin, it seems like there is a “protective” moisturising layer on top of my skin yet I can feel that it doesn’t suffocate the skin.

After religiously using it for a month, I was pleased with its effects on my skin. I have an oily/ acne and sensitive skin and although I still get pimples, my skin has improved greatly. The snail gel/cream has brightened and lightened my skin. My skin doesn’t appear dull, like it revitalized the quality of my skin. What I like most about it is that it lightened and gently faded my acne scars, this effect didn’t happen overnight though, it took some time for me to see the effects.

It was an experiment for me to try the Secret Key Snail + EGF Repairing Gel Cream and I am glad to have bought it. I can purchase it again but I want to try other snail creams in the market.

Have you tried any snail cream yet? What is your experience?

Cheers!

12 Responses to “Secret Key Snail + EGF Repairing Gel Cream”

  1. zjae November 28, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    Hey, thank u for a very candid review!

    Do you think you would be brave enough to smell a snail so we can once-and-for-all know for sure if it does smell of snails?? 🙂 That’ll be cool though.

    Correct me if I am wrong but I saw from the ingredient list, this gel-cream contains flavour which usually means fragrance in Korean products.

    This means fragrance was added, whether natural or artificial, it was not clearly stated.

    Anyway, I was about to purchase one bottle at Gmarket and I am glad I came upon your blog and found information I need!! TQ once more!!

    Cheers 🙂

    ps: you can use a small stainless steel teaspoon purely to use on your skincare products, it is more hygenic than plastic which tend to have micro-cracks invisible to the eye but will trap dirt overtime, hence a bit inhygenic.

    • sjbkk November 28, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

      You’re welcome 🙂 Thanks for reading my blog and hope I was helpful.
      Hehe… The snail gel/ cream has a distinct smell that I can’t figure out what it is. Will let you know once I smell a snail, hehe :p
      Oh, thanks for the tip on the stainless steel teaspoon. I should use one then.

      Cheers!

  2. Angelo Schexnayder December 9, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Hey there, You have done a fantastic job. I’ll definitely digg it and in my opinion recommend to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this site.

  3. SL W March 25, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Have been using the gel cream for the past 3 weeks. Did notice that my skintone is more even and I look fairer. However, bumps have been appearing on my face these two weeks which I suspect could be due to the gel cream. I have tried many new products and usually my skin is able to take it. At most, the new product might be too moisturizing and hence resulting in a oilier skin. However, it is not the case for this cream… Guess, i better stick to non-snail product:(

    • sjbkk March 25, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

      Oh, really? iIm sorry to hear that. I have oily skin but I didn’t get oilier when I had it before. I also don’t remember having bumps on my face when I used it.

      Yeah, maybe you should take a break from the snail cream first or try a different brand, perhaps?

      Cheers x

  4. [forever suplementy diety] April 22, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your further write ups thanks once again.

  5. wrinkle cream April 23, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

    Hello there, You’ve done a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

  6. thepinkcat01 June 6, 2013 at 5:25 am #

    You should try the toner !

    Agashibeaute.wordpress.com !!! Visit me !!!

    • sjbkk January 27, 2014 at 10:10 pm #

      Really? This gives me a reason to go shopping again. Im clicking your link now. Thanks for visiting! Cheers!

  7. Kegel exercises are designed to strengthen the muscles in the pelvic
    floor. These exercises were recommended for them
    to tone the vaginal muscles in order to reshaping them and to strengthen the weakened bladder.
    So, Long Yoga Pants are highly flexible meant for various poses and exercises.

  8. propertynetworkph October 30, 2014 at 12:48 am #

    I got mine 2 months ago and ordered it by email at leveredgepro@gmail.com. I was convinced to use it when I saw the effect on my friend’s face. After two weeks of using it, my skin looks fresh and really rejuvenates. The pimple scars also diminished. I have a super sensitive skin that is why I highly recommend Valencia Vita Snail Mucus Gel which I believed was the genuine one because it makes wonders on my skin. I really loved the product; I just put a little gel before I go to sleep and every morning before I put sunblock and face powder on my face. It makes wonders on my face because I do not need to use lots of stuff to make my skin looks younger. By the way I bought the product in the Philippines and I don’t know if it was available in other country. It cost 2,500 pesos when you buy one bottle but if you buy 2 bottles, you’ll get it for only P3,600 for 2 bottles.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Skin House’s Wrinkle Snail System Cream « life's simple joys - March 15, 2012

    […] This snail cream is the second brand of snail cream that I have tried. The first one I have tried is Secret Key Snail + EGF Gel Cream. […]

Leave a Reply

